• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Lightroom classic - before and after are the same....

New Here ,
May 21, 2022 May 21, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am new to Lightroom classic so I may be missing something... 

After I change something for a picture, for example crop it (which results in a new line in the history dropdown) - I thought that clicking the Y|Y button (or clicking Y) will show me the before (i.e., the imported picture) and after (i.e., the same picture AFTER the crop).

But - although the titles say "before" and "after" I see the same cropped picture.

And if I click the "import" line of the history I see the original picture in both "before" and "after".

Any ideas how to make this work?
In the screenshots I uploaded I made the crop (rotate) drastic - simply to show the issue

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , May 21, 2022 May 21, 2022

Crop is AFAICT an exception here: you should see all differences of adjustment.

Perhaps (I am speculating here) the reason behind this exception is: to facilitate the two views, even when zoomed in,  showing the same picture content as each other. This helps massively for a direct comparison of tone, colour, detail etc.

If you just want to rapidly review what's happened with the crop along with the other parameters, one way is to watch the Navigator window (top left of Develop), while you ho

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Crop is AFAICT an exception here: you should see all differences of adjustment.