• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

LR Classic very slow to boot (then performs normally)

Explorer ,
Jun 03, 2019 Jun 03, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone, firstly thanks in advance for any help.

I have Lightroom Classic, on the latest version. Running on a late 2013 Imac 27" which has 16GB of RAM.

I am a photographer and use my Mac for pretty much only LR/PS and the odd web browsing.

I store my photos on an external USB drive which my current one is only 1.2TB used out of 4TB.

My Mac is only using 400GB of its internal 1TB fusion drive.

Recently my LR can take 5minutes+ to fully start up and allow my photos to appear in library/development. Once it has finally loaded everything it is quick and snappy to use and navigate around. This only occurs on the first startup after booting up, if I "Quit Lightroom Classic' and then open it again its quick to load.

FYI the rest of my Mac is quick on startup, I can be browsing Safari listening to Spotify within seconds.

A browse of the net has made me try a few things to no avail.

- Delete time machine snapshots in terminal

- Boot up in safe mode

- Restart and reset NVRAM

I have also unboxed a brand new external drive, copied my photos onto it but it is still the same (I wondered whether the older drive was on its way out)

Any help greatly appreciated,

Thanks,

Dan

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Adobe Employee , Jun 03, 2019 Jun 03, 2019

Hi Dan,