• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Moving Lightroom / Photoshop and Photo Catalog to an External Hard Drive

New Here ,
Jun 23, 2020 Jun 23, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am looking for some good information on how to migrate Lightroom/Photoshop and my photo catalog to an external hard drive to free up space in my laptops internal drive. This is for a PC. I am not a super techie guy.....so baby steps are appreciated.  TIA

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jun 23, 2020 Jun 23, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Even "baby steps" are helped by a full understanding, so I would rather you read from an expert (see the links), than for me to try and describe methods.

Photoshop- nothing to migrate!

But for Lr-Classic you do have options-

1. Move only the photo files to the external drive and leave the Catalog database on the internal drive.

https://www.lightroomqueen.com/move-photos-another-hard-drive-leaving-catalog/

2. After a succesful completion of step #1 also move the Catalog to the external drive.

https://www.lightroomqueen.com/find-move-rename-catalog/

Regards. My System: Lightroom-Classic 13.2 Photoshop 25.5, ACR 16.2, Lightroom 7.2, Lr-iOS 9.0.1, Bridge 14.0.2, Windows-11.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Jun 24, 2020 Jun 24, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

"I am looking for some good information on how to migrate Lightroom/Photoshop and my photo catalog to an external hard drive to free up space in my laptops internal drive. This is for a PC. I am not a super techie guy.....so baby steps are appreciated. TIA"