Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Problem with virtual copies

Community Beginner ,
Oct 30, 2019 Oct 30, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I warmly welcome
I am a wedding photographer and I prepare photos for my couples which they choose to next work . I Export photos to the online gallery with original photo numbers. The newlyweds choose them by giving me their numbers. which I paste into the lightroom. In this way I have all the photos chosen by them. Unfortunately, apart from black and white photos. I create them through virtual copies. and I can't change their names. if I change the name in metadata after exporting to jpg, the name will not be like in lightroom. Does anyone have an idea how to solve this problem. maybe I can copy the photo but not as a virtual copy.

thank you in advance for your help

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Oct 30, 2019 Oct 30, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

[This post contains embedded images that don't appear in email. View the post in your Web browser to see the images.]

"I Export photos to the online gallery with original photo numbers. The newlyweds choose them by giving me their numbers. which I paste into the lightroom. In this way I have all the photos chosen by them."

What precisely do you mean by "original photo numbers"?  Are you using the file naming option in Export to rename the exported files, and if so, what is the filename template you're using? A screenshot would help, e.g.

Untitled.png

In this example, a file originally named DSC02530.ARW would be exported as 02530.jpg. Your customers can send you those numbers they choose, and then you can do a Library Filter bar text search "Filename contains 02530" to search for the photo. This also works for virtual copies as well.