• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

SDK: How to select all text in LrView window?

Participant ,
Mar 22, 2021 Mar 22, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

An absolute beginner in LR SDK is searching for advise how to tweak and improve an existing plugin.

Background:

There is a beautiful plugin available on Github to visualize focus points as well as display EXIF metadata for a given photo. The metadata displayed is a bit inconvenient to use, because you can't search the text inside the window, and if you want to copy the entire information to a text editor you have to do this separately for the two columns, ie tag names and values. "Select all" in the context menu applies only to the active column. See attached image.

Ambition:

Of course, it would be perfect to have a means to search the text directly inside the window but I guess this might too difficult, at least I'm unable to do at this point. 

I would be already happy if I could tweak the existing code so that it's possible to select all text in Metadata display at once, so it can be easily copied to a text editor for further investigation.

Question:

The Metadata dialog of this plugin is currently implemented as 

LrView
   scrolled_view
      row  

col1=static_text, col2=static_text

I would very much appreciate any suggestions how this could be reorganized so that it would be possible to select and copy the entire text in the window at once.

TOPICS
SDK

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,
Mar 22, 2021 Mar 22, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

As you're discovering, the SDK doesn't give fine-grained control over a plugin's user-interface components.  Some ideas: