• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Using external drive for Lightroom catalog.

New Here ,
Dec 10, 2018 Dec 10, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Good evening!

I am fairly new to Lightroom. I am using it as my sole photo editing software, and running Lightroom classic cc on a MacBook Pro Retina. My issue is, I am chewing through my 500GB Internal HD. I shoot RAW only, and my Lightroom Catalog is huge and I am running out of storage room. I want to use an external SSD, and watched tutorials on how to create a new Lightroom catalog. I follow the instructions and I get this error message:

Lightroom cannot create a catalog named “Freds Lightroom Catalog” on volume “/Volumes/My Passport SSD/Freds Lightroom Catalog” because Lightroom cannot save changes to this location.

Says I cannot use a network drive or a removable drive.

Any help??

Thank you!

Fred Hopper

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Dec 10, 2018 Dec 10, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I would think there's a permissions problem with the external SSD.....all my catalogs are on an external SSD with no problem, so check the permissions of the drive.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Dec 11, 2018 Dec 11, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

That is just what the problem was! Thank you so much!

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied