• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Clone Stamp Tool: won't work on layers

New Here ,
Jul 27, 2014 Jul 27, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a beginner, and cannot find the answer to this online. I've been trying to use the Clone Stamp Tool, but it only works on the background image, not on any layers. When I try to use it on layers, I press Alt and the target comes up, but then when I click to brush, it does not clone. It doesn't do anything at all. Any ideas on how I can get this to work? I don't want to edit the original image.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,
Jul 27, 2014 Jul 27, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Set the Tool to "Current Layer" in the Options bar at the top.

More detail here. The Ultimate Guide To Cloning In Photoshop | Smashing Magazine

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,
Jul 28, 2014 Jul 28, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Well 'Current & Below' if you want to copy the layer below onto a new layer 🙂

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Advocate ,
Oct 19, 2017 Oct 19, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Every once in a while my Clone Stamp goes on walkabout.  It just did for me.  All the settings were right, but it would not work. I looked at all the usual suspects, the settings were what they should be.

I solve the problem by saving the image, closing and re-opening Photoshop.  I just had to do this.  All is well in the Photoshop world, for now.

If it goes wanky on you try saving your work, shutting it down and restarting. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines