Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Colouring map contours

New Here ,
Feb 03, 2017 Feb 03, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all.

I am after some help please. I have a series of old WW2 maps that have contour lines that are quite faint. What i would like to do is colour areas the same height to make the height differences easier to distinguish.

here is part of the original map, with contours coloured in brown.

fontenay.jpg.png

i would like to be able to colour it something like this, so the area between each contour takes on a different colour

images.jpg

i am relatively new to photoshop, so the easier the solution the better please. I have tried just painting in between the lines, but it will take me forever .

thanks in advance

Mike

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Feb 03, 2017 Feb 03, 2017

Whatever method you use, it's going to be a lot of work. I would suggest that you start learning to use the pen tool to create shapes of the elevations. Create the shape layers with the colors you want below the layer of the map, and change the blend mode of the map to multiply. That way the white of the map won't affect the colors below, but the black lines will show up.

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Whatever method you use, it's going to be a lot of work. I would suggest that you start learning to use the pen tool to create shapes of the elevations. Create the shape layers with the colors you want below the layer of the map, and change the blend mode of the map to multiply. That way the white of the map won't affect the colors below, but the black lines will show up.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines