• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Creator Terminology such as "mockups", "plug ins" ect. What are they?

Explorer ,
Mar 20, 2023 Mar 20, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi, 

I am fairly new to PS and I frequently visit sites that sale fonts, icons, illustrations ect. But I would like to know what is exactly and how does a brush work as well as a mockups and plug ins?

Also how are fonts created, is there like a general template?

Thx!

TOPICS
iPadOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

• Fonts: Fonts (in general) need to be vector data and Font creation needs special software (but as far as I know free options are available). 

It is not simple – a proper font consists of many, many letters, numbers, accents etc.

• Mock-ups: In Photoshop this would usually refer to images in which one can insert custom designs to visualize how they would look on covers, t-shirts etc. 

Practically this needs to be done with Smart Objects in Photoshop.

Proper 3D applications naturally offer superior options but also more complexity. 

• »how does a brush work«: What do you mean exactly?

Assuming you have already used a Brush what was unclear about its workings? 

Have you looked up the difference of plain Brushees, Erodible Brushes, Bristle Brushes, Sampled Brushe on helpx yet? 

https://helpx.adobe.com/photoshop/using/creating-modifying-brushes.html

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

A mockup is a full scale design