• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Display aspect ratio when selecting or cropping?

Engaged ,
Mar 24, 2019 Mar 24, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

In Photoshop Creative Cloud when I'm selecting part of an image or cropping an image with the crop tool, it displays the physical dimensions of the selected region in inches.   But for my purposes I don't care about the physical dimensions, I care about the ASPECT RATIO - the ratio of height to width.   Fort example, I'm a painter and I might be looking for something for a canvas or panel that's 4:3.   

Obviously it can be calculated by hand with a calculator, but as I'm moving the mouse around to try different framing I don't want to keep stopping to punch in some calculations.   Does Photoshop have any way to display the aspect ratio on the fly as you're moving the mouse to make a selection?

Thanks in advance.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you want to lock crop to some particular aspect ratio then use Select a preset aspect ratio or crop size drop down list, choose or type aspect ratio and that should do the job.

lock aspect ratio.jpg

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You can use JJMack’s aspect ratio script mentioned in this topic:

Re: Guide Lines for Print Sizes Action?

Which will create a selection to a defined aspect ratio, then use the transform selection command if required for constrained resizing.

Votes

Translate

Translate