Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Having color issues with CMYK setting

Community Beginner ,
Aug 16, 2018 Aug 16, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi guys,

I am a web/print designer, and I am having an issue with CMYK setting.

and I have a couple print related questions.

In case it helps, here are my settings..

-Macbook Pro Retina 15, Mid 2015

-Monitor Calibrated with Spyder5 + DisplayCal

-Color Setting: North America General Purpose 2 (both PS/IL)

-RGB: sRGB IEC61966-2.1

-CMYK: U.S. Web Coated (SWOP) v2

PDF RELATED ISSUE

1. With RGB, everything is fine. (Photoshop Workspace = Preview for both PSD/PDF = PDF) they all look the same.

2. With CMYK,

-Exported PDF file looks faded.

-The preview of PDF looks faded.

-The preview of PSD looks faded.

-But, if both PSD & PDF files are opened in Photoshop, they look back to normal.

Is it just a display/preview glitch that I can ignore? of that's how it's going to look if it were to be printed?

I recently started on print design so I never had to deal with cmyk up until recently and this issue is driving me nuts.

PRINT RELATED QUESTION

1. When it comes to brightness, is there any way to soft-proof to make it look as close to print as possible without the actual print testing?

When I used to work at an ad agency, the print dept took care of this process and showed the prints to the designers to confirm.

I've done some research, and it seems that you need to calibrate your monitor to (120 cd/m2, 6500k color temp), will this help much?

or for any print work, do you have to always estimate how it's going to turn out and work with your gut?

2. Can I stick with "U.S. Web Coated (SWOP) v2" for any print work?

Thank you

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied