I just spent several hours working on isolating a part of a picture that was really complicated. I saved the original to Creative Cloud against my better judgment before I isolated the piece that I needed. When done, I saved the document with '-isolated' in the title. Which seemed to work fine except that I didn't realize it had already overwritten the source file.
Next, I selected just the isolated material and cropped my image. When I saved it as "-cropped", I noticed that the icon for the source and isolated versions had changed. I figured, "no problem, surely they saved the history for those files with the file and I can just undo the cropping to get back to the isolated version."
So I loaded the -isolated version and to my chagrin could not undo or revert.
Please tell me there is a way to turn off this ridiculous auto-save feature that I never asked for. I will decide for myself when I want to save. How is it that Adobe thinks they know better than me when I want to save and why don't they at least save the history with the files so you can undo changes?