• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How do i create a 'shadow' on a background image?

Participant ,
Jun 10, 2019 Jun 10, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm new to photoshop and I'm running the version of Photoshop on my 8.1 Windows PC. The latest version does not run on my current operating system

I would like to create a background image and the color of the image doesn't really matter. However I want to create a shadow on the top border of that image

How can I do this.

The other question I want to add to this is how do I make that image a certain size. Meaning a certain height and5 width in terms of pixels

For example a YouTube thumbnail requires the image to be a certain size or a Facebook cover photo should be a certain size

So when I have size requirements I would like to know how I could save my image so it is that size

Keith

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

You could create a shadow may ways. Paint one in. Add a gradient into a empty layer as above the back\ground layer.  There are always more than one way to do thing in Photoshop.