• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to export Photoshop shapes to svg with exactly same stroke effects?

New Here ,
Jul 16, 2016 Jul 16, 2016

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm not a designer, but I have to export image assets for a website from a PSD layout. I would like to use SVG format for icons for the sake of retina graphics support on the website.

Some icons (shapes) consist of multiple layers, or have stroke effect applied partially on their paths (using Outside or Inside positions). I don't have Illustrator, so I wanted to use Photoshop's CC 2015 Export As feature from layer/group right-click menu and then selected SVG.

But some icons have wrong (double?) stroke size there, or have a stroke filling where it wasn't originally. Both in the preview and exported file. Am I doing something wrong? Is there something I can do in Photoshop to export them to SVG just the way they look in PSD?

I'm attaching a screenshot collage to show what exactly do I mean (click to enlarge).

shape-to-svg.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 16, 2016 Jul 16, 2016

Here's an example using the page icon. I made the shapes using the stroke on the shape rather than as a layer effect. I also used two shapes for the icon. I used a center stroke.

Here's the export UI:

Here's the file opened in IA:

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied