Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Importing layered pdfs into Photoshop

Jun 07, 2010 Jun 07, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I'm a landscape architect and use Photoshop to colour up my CAD designs. It is a big time saver if I could carry across the separate layer information in my CAD plan to within Photoshop - it would make it much quicker to colour in just the paths, for example.

At the moment I do this by creating a series of separate pdfs from autocad, each showing different layer(s), then overlay these in photoshop.This works but is rather cumbersome.

It is possible to create layered pdfs automatically within autocad, keeping the cad layers separate as layers in the pdf. However, so far as I can see, there isn't a way to get photoshop to read in that pdf and use it to create its own layered psd file.

Maybe there is a nifty file converter routine out there if photoshop really does not support this. Any ideas gratefully received!

Thanks, Matt.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Jun 07, 2010 Jun 07, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

PDF files become rasterized when loaded into Photoshop. (That's not good)

I'd open CAD-created PDF files in Illustrator to keep them in vector format.

As PDF vector data in Illustrator, it may be infinitely easier to fill shapes (depending on how your CAD program created the file - - - some CAD apps create line segments instead of solid lines in PDF)

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Jun 08, 2010 Jun 08, 2010

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks for that.