• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Importing text from Word into Photoshop and exporting it as a .png - Text is pixelated

Community Beginner ,
Dec 16, 2023 Dec 16, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello!

I am new to PS.

I created a tribute page for my senior daughter's HS yearbook using Microsoft Word.

After sending my page to the yearbook dept., I was told that all of my photos were blurry, even after converting them to 300 dpi (using a free online dpi converter).

So I purchased PS, converted the original photos to 300 dpi using that and fixed that problem.

I naively thought that I could do the same thing with the 500-word text box I created in Word (I did not use WordArt), but that is proving to be way more complicated.

I have tried many methods:

- Copying the text, pasting it into a new Word .doc, saving the new .doc as a .pdf and then opening that in PS,

- Copying the text, pasting it as a picture into a new Word .doc, then saving the new .doc as a picture (tried both .jpg and .png), then opening those in PS,

- Using the screen clipping tool and saving that as an image,

- etc., etc.

The problem is not with getting the Word .doc text imported into PS; I actually did that.

The issue is that when I view the text in PS after importing it , the text is very pixelated.

I tried using the sharpening and softening tools, but that didn't help.

Exporting the text from PS as high quality .jpg or .png didn't fix the problem either.

I would prefer not to have to retype all of the 500-word text into PS if I don't absolutely have to, because the text I want to copy/paste was created in Word to fit around the photos I'd already fixed on the page, and I really don't have more time to spend learning how to manipulate text around images in PS.