Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Need help learning to see values in still life

Contributor ,
Aug 28, 2018 Aug 28, 2018

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I am a beginning student with a little skill with photoshop. I am taking an online course, and we are trying to create a 3D look by just painting value in grayscale. I sort of cheat by snapping a photo of my still life, then convert to black and white or grayscale in PS.

My instructor says I still leave too much detail in my homework submissions. A good example of what he wants is in the image attached. No eyes, but you get the 3D effect of 2 baby giraffes and a pyramid.(My images are out of order...sorry). I did a charcoal rendering of the angel, but it is definitely not good enough to submit. I didn't get the values(shading) clean or even completely correct.

Is there any way to use PS to help me in isolating the values(we are only using 4 to learn...extreme dark, extreme light, moderate dark, moderate light. However, even a grayscale rendering is not enough for me to accomplish what is required. I would like to do a greyscale of the angel(I will only draw the angel, not the children).s there any other software/technique to accomplish or help me with this? Any help will be appreciated. Thanks so much in advance.ANGEL W CHILDREN COLOR.jpeg

Is there any other software/technique to accomplish or help me with this? Any help will be appreciated. Thanks so much in advance.WALL 2 GIRAFFES PYRAMID SHEILA J.jpgANGEL W CHILDREN DRAWING.jpeg

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Aug 28, 2018 Aug 28, 2018

You can use posterize adjustment layer.

Screen Shot 2018-08-28 at 2.42.37 PM.png

Add a curves to fine tune what goes into the 4 colors

Screen Shot 2018-08-28 at 2.42.43 PM.png

Votes