• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Need Software Update for iMac mid 2011

New Here ,
Sep 07, 2021 Sep 07, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi! I have been using Photoshop on my iMac for several years and now all of a sudden it says that it is not compatable and I need to update my software.  I am currently running Yosemite10.10.5 and my computer says that there are no updates available.  I have tried to figure out how to install an older version on Photoshop but haven't had luck with that either! Any suggestions?  My work depends on photoshop!

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It’s weird that message came up all of a sudden.

Which version of Photoshop are you running?

There are two different upgrade tracks to look at here: Apple macOS, and Adobe Photoshop.

For macOS, the iMac specs on everymac.com say a mid-2011 Mac should be upgradeable as far as macOS 10.13 High Sierra. If Apple Software Update does not offer that to you, you can download the High Sierra installer yourself.

For Photoshop, you have a second challenge. Adobe now has a policy where the Adobe Creative Cloud desktop app (installer/updater) provides the current version and the previous version, but nothing before that. Right now, that means the Creative Cloud app can install Photoshop 2021 (version 22) or 2020 (version 21). The current version, Photoshop 2021, requires macOS 10.14 Mojave or later, which Apple does not support on a mid-2011 Mac, so you can’t install it even if you upgrade macOS on your iMac as far as it will go. You should be able to install Photoshop 2020, which requires macOS 10.13 High Sierra…the last version of macOS you can install on that iMac.