Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photohop plugin do's and don'ts

New Here ,
Apr 28, 2008 Apr 28, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi,

I'm new to the Photoshop plugin scene so please bear with me. I'm trying to determine if a plugin is the right way to go for the work I want to do. I can't seem to find a straight answer in the documentation so I'm turning to the forums.

The plugin I'd like to write would have to do the following things :
- Parse all the layers of a document and extract data be it image or text
- Save that data in individual files

It seems quite close to what an export plugin can do but I have several questions :
1) Is this doable in an export plugin ? In any plugin type ?
2) Is it ok to use new and delete freely in a plugin ?
3) Is it ok to freely open/write/close any files in a plugin ?

This plugin would be developped for an internal tool to extract data from a psd file.

Any help appreciated. I have found that I could probably get this done in a javascript file but I'm still evaluating the technology and wondering if it can be done better/same way in a plugin.

I'm using CS3 and the corresponding SDK, whose documentation seems quite poor to me.

Cheers,
Pascal.
TOPICS
SDK

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Adobe Employee ,
Apr 28, 2008 Apr 28, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

1) Yes, the pixel info not the text info. Unless you want the text as pixels.

2) Yes. For large memory allocations you should use the Photoshop memory suites.

3) Yes, but I would not open/write/close the currently open documents in Photoshop.