• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Save For Web (Legacy) actual export file size doesn't match size in export settings

New Here ,
Jul 24, 2024 Jul 24, 2024

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have a JPG image with file size 1.80MB. I'm trying to reduce that size via Export > Save for Web (Legacy) > lowering quality to Medium, which the dialog window says will yield file size 105KB. But the actual file size after export is 1.66MB. Screenshot included, image blocked out for privacy. The file was created on a Mac then sent to my Windows device.

This has always worked for images at 72ppi, which is the resolution I normally work with, but this image is at 300ppi. I'm assuming that's the issue, but what can I do about it and why does the higher ppi cause this issue? Lowering the ppi to 72 ruins the image. 

(I'm not a graphic designer so I'm not well versed in all this, I just post images that are sent to me and sometimes need to reduce their size before doing so.)

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The file was created on a Mac then sent to my Windows device.

By @Summer35485157hduj

Does the file size change along the way? In other words, what’s the size when it first appears on the Mac after export, and is that different than the size reported in Windows?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied