• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Saving a photo processed in Photoshop back to Lightroom

Explorer ,
Jul 10, 2021 Jul 10, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I’m very new to Photoshop so just trying to become familiar with everything. I do minimal processing in Lr and then open the Raw photo to edit further in Photoshop. When the dialogue box opens, I click ‘Edit Original’ and trust this will allow me to edit the raw file and save as a PSD or TIFF. I find the ‘Edit a copy with Lightroom Adjustments’ and ‘Edit a Copy’ options quite confusing. Am I on the right track with this??  

By doing this, the PSD or Tiff is saved back to the relevant folder and appears alongside my RAW file in Lightroom. 

I need some some direction with this as so many tutorials say so many different things! 

Also, with regard to opening a JPG from a folder, within Photoshop, is there any way I can save the changes to the jpg as a tiff back into Lightroom? To date, I’ve only been able to save to the folder and then import back to Lightroom. 

Im trying to be very clear and precise in order to get an accurate response. I have posted these questions in other forums but only get knee jerk responses with one line answers. I guess that’s the nature of social media. As I said I’m only learning so would really appreciate a considered response. Thank you! 

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jul 10, 2021 Jul 10, 2021

Hi and welcome to Photoshop.

Let's look at the simplest example first - you want to open a raw file carry out some basic adjustments in Lightroom then open it and carry out some further edits in Photoshop.