Exit

Serious Graphical Issues recently

New Here ,
May 27, 2022 May 27, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Photoshop 23.3.2
Windows 10

I have been using Photoshop, and other Adobe products for years.
I have a computer that has been running Adobe software for 10+ years.
It is not the highest end machine, but it has always worked before.

Recently, within the last month or so, something changed and now Photoshop is almost completely unusable.

The first thing I noticed was that everything started taking longer to open and scroll/zoom. 
I am a game developer, so I do a lot (but not exclusively) of pixel art - so I am working with images that are small and very zoomed in.

Whenever I use the mouse wheel to scroll (horizontally or vertically), or use the zoom tool to zoom in/out via clicking with the mouse, I have to wait a LONG time for each 'step' to render... or something... before the controls become responsive again.

Next, I noticed that when I did zoom in, the Pixel Grid was no longer showing up. 
I posted about it, but no one had any answers: https://community.adobe.com/t5/photoshop-ecosystem-discussions/pixel-grid-disappears-after-enabling-...

I narrowed it down to: if I reset ALL of my options, exit and re-launch Photoshop, the Pixel Grid is there until I turn on the Custom grid lines, and then it goes away COMPLETELY - it is no longer an option ANYWHERE to turn it back on, even if I turn off the custom grid and restart the application. I have to reset the options again.

This is obviously less than ideal since I am often working with sprite sheets where I want the pixel grid visible AND the Custom Grid at the same time - and this USED to work just fine...

NEXT I started noticing... I don't know what to call it... screen-tearing? Screen drawing issues? I don't know... I would be trying to work on one part of an image, zoom or scroll and a huge chunk of the screen would not be updated... and would be split from the rest of the image.