Split Flap Display

New Here ,
Aug 03, 2022 Aug 03, 2022

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello Adobe Community 

I hope you are all very well.

My name is Jason and I am a photo artist living in London, England

Can anyone offer any advice on the best Adobe product (or non Adobe) that will enable me to build a digital version of a Split Flap display?

A Split Flap display, also known as a Solari Board, is a mechanical display device for text often found in train stations and airports etc. Think of rotating and cascading letters that indicate a destination and time. 

Screenshot 2022-08-03 at 11.58.26.pngScreenshot 2022-08-03 at 11.49.21.png

I'd like to try and emulate and utilise the lovely visual effects of a Split Flap board but rather than make a mechanical object, I’d like to use a computer monitor or large screen.

I am a documentary photographer and over the last few years I have made 2224 portraits of people that live in and visit the London Borough of Camden.

Traditional ways of showing this work include printed books and magazines and photo prints in art galleries, which are all great but I’d like to try a ‘new’ take on disseminating documentary work and feel that 2224 portraits in a digital Split Flap could be very interesting.

Is there an Adobe app or program on which I can build my idea? 

My project is called jason wilde’s Free Portrait Studio [ Link removed by Moderator ]

You would make me a very happy artist if you could offer a solution to my issue.

Thank you.

Jason

TOPICS
Cross-app workflows , macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe Community Professional ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied