• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Ways to implement image resizing using plug-ins?

New Here ,
May 24, 2007 May 24, 2007

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Photoshop developers,

I'm a developer with a few Photoshop filter and selection plug-ins under my belt, and I have a good understanding of the SDK and tools and suites it provides. My next project is an algorithm for enlarging/resampling images to different pixel dimensions. I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions for or experience with the best combination of plug-in types to implement this.

Clearly, I can't just write it as a filter plug-in, since there is no way to change the image dimensions from within a filter.

I'd like the resized image to remain within Photoshop (as a new window or in the original one), so an export plug-in on its own is not sufficient.

Import plug-ins seem promising, since they allow the creation of a new document of the required size. However, as best I can tell from the Photoshop 6.0 SDK documentation, import plug-ins cannot access the image data from other open documents (or even the clipboard), nor do they provide any support for channel ports and the Channel Port suite.