• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Why can't I use the selection tool for an uploaded PNG in photoshop?

New Here ,
Dec 04, 2023 Dec 04, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello,

I have uploaded a png into photoshop. I am trying to modify/contract the pixels but when I try to select my layer/png/image the selection tool wont work? I'm not that good with photoshop so I'm trying to understaned what I'm doing wrong.Screen Shot 2023-12-04 at 4.41.06 PM.png

TOPICS
macOS

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

PNG files with transparency open as just one layer.

Ant text is rasterized and can't be edited unless you remake the Type layer.

To select the entire page, you can use the shortcut Cmd A, and change their size with Free Transform (Cmd T), but that wouldn't make sense as resizing the image would be an easier way to do that.

It would help if you told us exactly how you wish to edit the image.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you do want to change the text, that is one heck of a light font.  The easiest wat to get close to that is to use one of the Variable Concept fonts where those properties can be changed.  A weight of 150 (Extra Light) is about right.

There will be designers cringing at that uber wide tracking me thinks.

image.png

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied