• 한국 컀뮀니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Inner glow BLACK within layer styles

Community Beginner ,
Jun 04, 2021 Jun 04, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

He, just bought PS Elements 2021 for the laptop. I cant get the inner glow within layer styles BLACK, all the other colours work, but when selecting black it becomes transparent. I've been using this method to create a border for many years over in CS3. 

TOPICS
Problem or error

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Jun 05, 2021 Jun 05, 2021

The reason is in photoshop elements the Inner Glow Blend Mode is set to the default Screen which cancels out black.

You can see this if you put a black layer over your image layer and change the Layer Blending Mode to Screen.

Anyway you can sorta of replicate cs3 and use Black for the Inner Glow by:

1. Open you image and double click on the thumbnail in the layers panel to make a regular layer.

2. duplicate that layer and change the Layer Blend Mode to Multiply

2. Click on the bottom l

Votes

Translate

Translate
Advocate ,
Jun 05, 2021 Jun 05, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The Styles dialog box in Adobe Photoshop Elements does not include all the options that you get in Adobe Photoshop.

In Adobe Photoshop, under the Structure section for the Inner Glow settings, you have the option to change the Blend Mode. The default choice is Screen. If you use black for the color of the Inner Glow with the Screen Blend Mode you will not see the Inner Glow. You need to change the Blend Mode to a different Blend Mode, such as Normal, for the Inner Glow to become visible.