• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Are there any improvements planned for the brush engine ?

New Here ,
Feb 15, 2019 Feb 15, 2019

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello guys !

I'm a digital painter, using photoshop for about 10 years now and I was wondering if there was any improvements planned for the brush engine that is getting a bit old. The mixer brush added a few years back was a big improvement, but I'm thinking about something else : If you take Clip studio or paintstorm, they both come with extremely good brush engine and has features like multi shape sampling : for example if you want to create a foliage bush, you can create a brush with multiple leaf shape alpha samples, and when you make a stroke it will pick randomly among all these shapes and lay down a nice effect (you can create super realistic brushes). Maybe you will tell me, yeah well in photoshop you can randomly invert shape symetry, distort it and that will do the trick, etc ; but it doesn't look good enought in my opinion. You can see it looks kinda fake, funky, same shape squished and rotated over and over again. When creating comics of paintings, having complex bush/plant/tree/rock... brushes is a plus that can save lots of time and look awesome, like it was done by hand.

Another improvement that would be great is adding a modifiable custom curve graph behavior altering the tablet inputs (pressure, rotation etc) for every brush function (spacing, angle, opacity, etc) ; also brush stroke correction/control (starting and ending correction, ribbon brush, special effect brush like the firework or comet tail brush in paintstorm (a brush that starts super thin, then at 2/3 of the way suddenly spreads wide, and fades out))