• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Automate > Batch keeps overwriting the current file.

New Here ,
Nov 17, 2020 Nov 17, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi everyone, 

I am new to using Photoshop Actions but I created one that acheived my goal of opening a background image, applying a PNG overlay, Saving for Web, deleting the overlay layer, repeating the process with a few different overlays on the same background image, and closing the file. 

When I run the action on one backgroud image it works great. However, when I do Automate > Batch on an entire folder of background images it just keeps replacing the set of images over and over. 

I need to somehow append a name to each file so they dont overwrite. Here's an example of what I need from each background:

background_red-overlay.png

background_green-overlay.png

background_blue-overlay.png

If someone could help me with this I would greatly appreciate it!

TOPICS
Actions and scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Batch uses the Action you chose, if the name and path of the resulting file/s are part of the recording that’s not a malfunction of Batch. 

Please provide meaningful screenshots including the fully expanded Action in the Actions Panel and the Layers Panel. 

If you need to amend filenames you will probably have to use a Script instead of an Action. Do you have any JavaScript experience? 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied