• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Complaint: Animated GIF, Photoshop CS4

New Here ,
Aug 12, 2009 Aug 12, 2009

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am a freelance print designer. Needless to say that I have upgraded to the Design Standard Edition of the Creative Suite 4. Still, some customers ask me to do their web banners, too.

Fact 1:

There is an animation palette in Photoshop CS4 Standard.

Fact 2:

You can create animations with that palette.

Fact 3:

You can save the animation as an animated GIF.

Fact 4:

Opening the animated GIF, you only get the first frame, so you cannot edit the animation or content inside the GIF.

Fact 5:

I need to alter a few animated GIFs which I created several years ago using Photoshop CS2. Due to a harddrive crash, I don't have access to the original layered PSD files any more.

Fact 5:

Photoshop CS4, the most advanced image editing tool on the face of the earth, is absolutely useless at this point, and I have to find freeware or shareware to do the job. Finding and purchasing this sort of software is MY time, and that is MY money.

Whatever drove Adobe to cripple Photoshop CS4 Standard, whatever drove them to expel the simple "Open Animated GIF" feature from Photoshop CS4, it was the wrong decision.

This, Adobe, is a customer complaint. Take it serious. There is competition, and I hear a lot about GIMP these days.

Frustrated,

Gero

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

File >Import > Video to layers.

In the dialogue box, type *.* to show all file types.

Select your GIF file and which frames to import.

They will now be available in your animation palette.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines