• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Creating consistent colors across Apple/Mac and Windows displays

Community Beginner ,
Jan 04, 2021 Jan 04, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I have my Dell XPS 15 display set to Adobe RBG and this is what I often work in in PS. I do illustration and I find myself creating something just how I like it, saving it to Creative Cloud, opening up the file on my iPhone to post on instagram and I see a completely different color display. Often times much darker and duller colors. So then I will have to re-edit the picture on my iphone to correct it. Is there a way to improve this so my artwork looks consistent across different platforms?

I'm a freelancer and want a more 'professional' process so I don't have to stress about how my artwork will look outside of PS. 

I calibrated my screen through the Windows application. But do I need to invest in a color calibration device? I was reading how apple now uses DCI-P3

TOPICS
Windows

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

"I have my Dell XPS 15 display set to Adobe RBG"

That's wrong unless the display is wide gamut (few are). Even so, a generic profile will never be accurate and there's no point going that route if you need consistency across several machines. Generic profiles give generic results.

If you need consistency, you must use a calibrator. All the monitor profiles must be accurate, and a calibrator is the only way. Windows or Mac is entirely irrelevant.

That said, only a color managed application will understand and use these profiles. Phones are off the map. There is some sort of limited color management behind the scenes with most phones, but there's no way to profile a phone screen accurately, and that's what you need.

Votes

Translate