• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

How to copy a layer from one to another PSD?

Nov 04, 2017 Nov 04, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello

Would like to ask for some assistance please. Kindly note that I am extremely new to Photoshop. Barely know how to open new psd file so would appreciate if I get can very detailed answer because nothing in Photoshop is for me so logical that it wouldn't need to be typed.

I am trying to copy a layer that consist of many different elements from first PSD to another PSD. In first one that layer should obviously remain. Thats why I said ''copy'' and not ''relocate''. Watched many youtube videos but nothing helps. Tried to do this on three different ways and neither of them work:

Way 1: Right clicked on name of the layer and then clicked on "Duplicate Group". I was fortunately aware that second PSD needs to be opened so the layer could be copied to it. The ''Duplicate Group'' window occurred and in ''Destination'' part of window in ''Document'' dropdown menu I chose name of opened document where i want for the layer (actually group of layers ''Group'') to arrive and clicked button ''OK'' but it didn't work. The layer/group didn't occur on the image file of second PSD but ( ! ) it occurred in Essentials\Layers list at the right hand side (very big menu). Even if I tried to unhide/hide (the little icon that looks like human's eye in said very big menu), it still wasn't shown.

Way 2: Very similar to way 1. Here i only clicked (in very big menu) the Group and tried to duplicate (right mouse button) each layer in the group separately. It didn't work but for each layer from the group, the name successfully occurred in very big menu of second image's PSD file. I repeat again: the layer did NOT arrive to the image file.