Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

JavaScript Script: Trigger Action through ENTER key of Path Deselection

Explorer ,
Nov 06, 2020 Nov 06, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

[Using PS 2019 on Windows 10]

What I am trying to achieve is to rasterize the current path when it is confirmed.

if(app.currentTool == "penTool") {
//when path is "confirmed", through hitting ENTER or pressing ctrl+LMB
app.activeDocument.activeLayer.rasterize(RasterizeType.ENTIRELAYER);
}

This could also be achieved by checking: 

if(/*amount of pathPoints>0 && no pathPoint selected*/) {
}

Unfortunately, I haven't been successful with either method. Any pointers? I am very new to PS scripting.

Hope this makes sense!

TOPICS
Actions and scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 2 Correct answers

Guide , Nov 06, 2020 Nov 06, 2020

Use notifications to activate the script at the right moment (the code must be saved to disk before running, since the path to the script file is used when adding a notification).

So I understand that we are not talking about paths, but about the shape layer. This imposes certain quirks, since the shape layer is a layer, not a path.
The example rasterizes the unfinished shape layer path by pressing enter. When deselecting a layer, the common for layers notification "selectNoLayers" is used, howeve

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND , Nov 06, 2020 Nov 06, 2020

if (name.split('Photoshop').length - 1 && !$.getenv('not')) $.setenv('not', 1), notifiers.add('slct', File($.fileName), 'Path')
else if(arguments && currentTool == 'penTool') arguments = runMenuItem(stringIDToTypeID('rasterizeShape'))

Save above script (without targeting it) in:

\c\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Adobe\Startup Scripts CC\Adobe Photoshop