• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Latest update to Photoshop (to version 22.4.1) will not allow drag & drop on Windows 10 pro O/S!

Community Beginner ,
Jun 06, 2021 Jun 06, 2021

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Folks,

(BTW: My O/S is Windows 10 64-bit and fully up to date and the PS version I had just before the update worked fine😞

I've been using PS since 2001, so I'm not new to it by any stretch of the imagination. Two days ago, I went ahead and allowed PS to run an update. Typically, I disable auto updates and update as I need to manually.

I don't fix something that's not broken and for my purposes, I didn't need any updates or new options in PS. However, two nights ago, I was in the middle of something and just happened to trigger Win 10's "check your siftware for updates" option.

Of course, I didn't pay close enough attention to what it was going to do and that was a big mistake. I quickly found out that I can no longer drag & drop ANY of my image files, (jpg, tiff, psd, etc.) onto the workspace of Photoshop. Pleasde note that I CAN drag & drop any of those files to any of my non-Adobe image software.

This seems to be specifically a Photoshop issue and I didn't make any changes in the preferences before this problem started. The previous version worked fine with D&D so I have to guess that the latest 22.4.1 version has something 'new' that doesn't like how I have my system configured.

THE FIXES I'VE TRIED:

I've already tried the "registry fix" that has been posted on YouTube, restarted the computer and that didn't work. 

I went ahead and enabled the "run as administrator" option in the Properties tab, eve though I always open photoshop with a right-click/"run as administrator" procedure anyway.

There doesn't seem to be any other options or ways to address this problem on line, besides those two suggestions.