• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photoshop Script Black and White Raster to Vector

Community Expert ,
Nov 10, 2014 Nov 10, 2014

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I do not have AI Adobe for I do not want to spend the money and have to learn an other complex Adobe application. I'm no artist either.  However at rimes I wanted  to have AI live trace feature to change black and white line drawing into vector graphics. AI creates EPS files with embedded vectors. And can export the vector to Photoshop.  Though Photoshop opens EPS as raster layers I find that EPS file created from tracing black and white lines and artwork with programs like potrace that use curves to create black vector shapes. That when these are opened in Photoshop as Black layer with transparency. When these layers transparency are loaded as a selection and the selections converted to path. I find the path are extremely good.

Potrace is a cross platform open source program packages available for many operating systems. Windows (32 bit) and (64 bit), Mac OS X (Intel), Mac OS X (universal),Linux (32 bit) and (64 bit), Linux (Alpha), Linux (Sparc64), Sun Solaris (Sparc), Sun Solaris (i386), Sun Solaris (x86_64), FreeBSD (i386), NetBSD (i386), OpenBSD (i386), AIX and AROS (i386). Potrace is a command line command. So it can be use started with options and passed a file from bat files and scripts. Potrace requires No instillation. All the needed potrace requited files just need to be place into a folder and potrace run from that folder as the current directory.