• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Pixel-independent image sharpness

New Here ,
Aug 22, 2020 Aug 22, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi all, I've been using photoshop for many years, and there's something I still have trouble trying to understand, in fact I have trouble even finding the right way of asking this question. Why is it that some web images, lets say with 800x800 px dimensions look sharper than other web images with identical pixel dimensions? Is it the bit depth? Though I thought browsers are incapable of displaying higher bit depths than 8? If I'm already starting at a 5000x5000+ px image, which looks very crisp when I zoom out enough to simulate going down to 800x800, however it doesn't look as crisp when actually exported for web from photoshop at 800x800px. There has to be a way to make the image look razor sharp at 800x800px. Is it differences in pixel density? Though I thought that was governed by the device screen and it's a static value that can't be altered. I realize one pixel is assigned one color value and that that may be the limiting factor, which is why I was wondering if it's the bit depth, however in practice I have noticed some are able to get razor sharp images somehow. Basically my question comes down to how to convert a 5000x5000+ px image to a 800x800px image for web while making it render very sharp on the Chrome browser considering it's starting out with a ton of information as a huge image to begin with. Any advice is welcome. Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied