Why can't I paint on new layer in Photoshop CS6

Contributor ,
Dec 16, 2020

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

OK first things first. I'm using Photoshop CS6 installed locally on my desktop. The machine is a Intel core i7 with 16GB of RAM.

Svreenshot...

Photoshop brush tool.jpg

I know this has to be a stupid problem. I've been using Photoshop since version 4.0. I have only recently learned to work with Illustrator CS6. I love Illustrator. All those years I had used Corel for my drawing program and Photoshop to manipulate and refine those images. Learning Illustrator I pretty much stopped using Photoshop. I am now having really stupid problems. It's almost like I've never used Photoshop before. I can only guess it's because of Adobe's changes and improvements to the program i.e. expanding the use and range of the various tools and modes etc.

One of the first problems I ran into was not being able to select things with the "Magic Wand" tool. Some issue with the Layer type. So if I right click the layer and select Rasterize Layer the Magic Wand will now select stuff . Up until now this had always been the default state of the program. Never had to chase down layer issues. The Magic Wand tool had always just worked right out of the box. just click/select the tool then click something it would make a selection according to the tolerance you give it.

I really don't understand what's up with that. Have I changed some master setting or something?  My latest problem as of Now today is that the brush tool won't paint anything at 100% opacity. The "Pencil" tool does just fine but the "Brush" tool only gives me a translucent coverage. I have everything set to 100% but it will not give me a solid black stroke.

Does anyone have any thoughts on that one. Any suggestions as to what I'm doing wrong.

Photoshop brush tool+2.jpg