• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Image doesn't meet our quality standards - Critique please!

Community Beginner ,
Feb 24, 2023 Feb 24, 2023

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi

I'm a newbie and I'm trying to get some of my images uploaded, and although some have got through, some haven't on quality grounds, and I'm not sure why.   Would you mind taking a look and giving me some feedback? (The attached are reduced to 72DPI, is that the best thing to do here?)

Thanks!

Nigel

TOPICS
Contributor critique , Troubleshooting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 3 Correct answers

Community Expert , Feb 24, 2023 Feb 24, 2023

No, you shouldn't downsize images prior to uploading them here; nevertheless the technical issue is immediately apparent. Adobe doesn't accept images that have been converted to black and white, or, in this case, sepia. The first image, which is lovely by the way, also has a blown hotspot in the horse's face. The second image has underexposed shadows. 

Votes

Translate

Translate

Don't change to monochrome.

Your first needs noise reduction. You need to check the boots for logos.  I'm not sure, however: I think that some errors have been introduced with your fancy filter that you applied. I suppose you have submitted a model release signed by the father and the mother (one as witness).

Your second requires probably some exposure work to be done: lifting the shadows mainly. If you can secure a model release from the lady, that would be ideal.

You should send in copy

Votes

Translate

Translate