Skip to main content
NetPixel Studio
Known Participant
Nov 17, 2019 1:32 AM UTC
Released

P: Export dialog behavior changed: cancelling loses all settings!

In Lightroom, versions prior 9 the Export dialog had a very convenient behavior: any settings changed were retained, regardless of the fact that Cancel or X (close) was clicked. Now, in v9 this has been changed, so Cancelling the dialog looses all settings!

The behavior before v9 was very convenient and somehow designed with the right intent: one may forget to do further adjustments to the files being exported, so the export procedure must be postponed...

The behavior in the current version, v9 is quite unusable. Ok, if Cancel means cancelling all settings, then let the user retain the settings made already (chosing export location, file type, size, etc) so please add a third button: 'Close dialog for now' (or something similar, clearly understandable). Clicking this button should retain the settings but should not start the export procedure.

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.

26 replies

Rikk Flohr-Retired
Adobe Employee
Feb 11, 2020 2:20 PM UTC
Updates to Lightroom Classic, Camera Raw, and the Lightroom Ecosystem were released yesterday and contain a fix for this issue.  Please install the appropriate update and see if it solves this problem. You can read more about the updates here.

Thank you for your patience. 
Translate
Rikk Flohr: Adobe Photography Org
NetPixel Studio
Known Participant
Nov 29, 2019 12:49 AM UTC
Please consider a third, "Close" button that saves the dialog's information.
The "Cancel" button can sit there and hitting it should cancel all changes, it's standard behavior.
Thank you!
Translate
Smit K
Participating Frequently
Nov 28, 2019 8:57 AM UTC
We are looking into this.
Translate
Smit | Lightroom Team
Just Shoot Me
Legend
Nov 22, 2019 10:56 AM UTC
I will load LR 4.4 on my old notebook tonight, if it isn't already on there, and do a test.
But IIRC the way it is now, If you hit the cancel button on the Export dialog window any settings you change get lost (go back to the way there were set the last time you actually exported something).
That is how I always remember it. What you supposedly saw in some previous version (and what I saw in LR 5 on my Win 10 system) is not the way I remember it. So either at some point after LR 4 Adobe changed that or it has something to do with the OS it is installed on.
Translate
Inspiring
Nov 22, 2019 6:46 AM UTC
Absolutely agree!  Looks like I won't be 'upgrading' to v9 any time soon, the new features are nowhere near as important as the Export settings being 'sticky'.   <rant> why do developers think they know better than their users?
Translate
NetPixel Studio
Known Participant
Nov 21, 2019 11:34 PM UTC
It isn't categorized correctly as idea!
The expected behavior has been changed into worse one.
I'm not asking for change. I'm asking to restore the original behavior of the Export dialog!
Translate
Just Shoot Me
Legend
Nov 21, 2019 11:30 PM UTC
Rick in LR 5, which I still have installed, it does retain the settings change if you Cancel the export dialog.
Translate
Rikk Flohr-Retired
Adobe Employee
Nov 21, 2019 2:47 PM UTC
It is correctly categorized as an Idea as you are asking for a change to As-designed behavior. 
Translate
Rikk Flohr: Adobe Photography Org
NetPixel Studio
Known Participant
Nov 21, 2019 12:13 AM UTC
Smit K, please change the thread back to 'Problem'. Thank you!
Translate
NetPixel Studio
Known Participant
Nov 21, 2019 12:12 AM UTC
LR should keep the way it was working before version 9, the 'Cancel' button should be renamed to 'Close'
Translate