Skip to main content
NetPixel Studio
Known Participant
Nov 17, 2019 1:32 AM UTC
Released

P: Export dialog behavior changed: cancelling loses all settings!

In Lightroom, versions prior 9 the Export dialog had a very convenient behavior: any settings changed were retained, regardless of the fact that Cancel or X (close) was clicked. Now, in v9 this has been changed, so Cancelling the dialog looses all settings!

The behavior before v9 was very convenient and somehow designed with the right intent: one may forget to do further adjustments to the files being exported, so the export procedure must be postponed...

The behavior in the current version, v9 is quite unusable. Ok, if Cancel means cancelling all settings, then let the user retain the settings made already (chosing export location, file type, size, etc) so please add a third button: 'Close dialog for now' (or something similar, clearly understandable). Clicking this button should retain the settings but should not start the export procedure.

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.

26 replies

NetPixel Studio
Known Participant
Nov 21, 2019 12:10 AM UTC
I see, but presets aren't suitable for that. Regarding the frequent changes in the Export dialog, I would quickly have hundreds of presets... 😞
Translate
Inspiring
Nov 21, 2019 12:07 AM UTC
I was suggesting that if you saved an export preset that you wouldn't lose your settings.
Translate
Just Shoot Me
Legend
Nov 20, 2019 10:57 AM UTC
Johan you remember, Think, the same as I do. There was times when replying to someones post that I would always said "You Have to Actually Export Something for the settings you changed to stick". "If you cancel the changes you made will revert to what they were before you made those changes"
Last night when reading the reply by the OP to my first reply I tested this on LR 5. In LR 5 if you change settings in the Export dialog then Cancel then Re-Open the Export dialog the setting you changed stay the way you had set them the last time even though you hit the Cancel Button. 
It was strange as I never remember that happening before. For me my memory recalls it just I stated in my first reply and the way you stated in the reply above.
So if anything Adobe changed the export settings Stick/Not Stick when canceling sometime before LR 5 and then changed it back to the way you and I remember it with LR 9.
Translate
JohanElzenga
Community Expert
Community Expert
Nov 20, 2019 10:12 AM UTC
Sounds like the current behavior is more logical and more consistent with other applications. If you cancel something, you cancel something. It only makes sense that any changes you made in the dialog just before you cancelled are also cancelled.

That is what happens in most other applications too, including in Lightroom. Try this: Choose 'Export' and click on a preset or change some settings. Click 'Cancel' and choose 'Export' again. The original settings are still active, not what you just changed in the Export dialog before you hit 'Cancel'. Or did that change too compared to previous versions?...
Translate
-- Johan W. Elzenga
Legend
Nov 20, 2019 3:42 AM UTC
I am able to reproduce the behaviour of LR keeping the previous export settings using LR 5.7.1 on my Win10 Laptop and LR 2015.14 on my Win10 desktop after an export cancel.

On both devices LR 9.0 however does not keep the settings after cancelling an export.
(I did not roll back to 8.4.1 to check but can if further testing is needed?)
Translate
NetPixel Studio
Known Participant
Nov 19, 2019 10:25 PM UTC
You remember wrong, or didn't checked the behavior at all...
I still have LR 8.4.1 on my laptop and I double checked the behavior again. Yes, the Export dialog keeps the settings AFTER hitting CANCEL.
If you don't believe this or don't remember well, an older version may be installed easily and may be checked.
Translate
NetPixel Studio
Known Participant
Nov 19, 2019 10:22 PM UTC
The problem isn't related to presets...
Translate
NetPixel Studio
Known Participant
Nov 19, 2019 10:22 PM UTC
Please change the thread back to problem.
You should check yourself the old behavior...
On my laptop I still have the 8.4.1 version and I can send you a video of starting an export, changing settings in the export dialog and then hitting cancel: when next opening the dialog, the settings are retained.
Please install an older version of LR and check the behavior.
Thank you!
Translate
Participating Frequently
Nov 19, 2019 1:01 PM UTC
Many thanks
Tom
Translate
Smit K
Participating Frequently
Nov 18, 2019 8:21 AM UTC
Hi,

Lightroom Classic never stored the export settings after cancelling the Export dialog. There has been no change in v9.0 around this. This is more of an idea than a problem. Converting this to an idea.
Translate
Smit | Lightroom Team