Skip to main content
Johan240456801yuv
Participating Frequently
Oct 11, 2026 6:43 PM UTC
Investigating

P: PS 27.11 Image > Adjustment Previews not changing on consecutive clicks

Hi,

 

Since a few days preview doesn’t work properly anymore.

For instance: I select an area of an image, and I’m darkening that area with the Image > Adjustments menu.

Then I click on the preview button to see the difference between my adjustment and the original situation.

In the past I could toggle (preview/no preview) as many times as I liked. But now I can only click one time. I can use the preview button to see the original situation of the selected area, but when I’m clicking again (to return to the preview) the check mark appears, but I don’t see the adjustments anymore. They are applied however: when I’m clicking OK the darkened area is appearing. But I would like to see them before clicking on the OK button, so that I can test with darkening and lightening until the result is what I want.

What should I do to restore the original toggling possibility?

 

I have another problem with the rectangular selection tool. When I’m selecting an area, a rectangle appears on the image - so far, so good.

But after that the function of the rectangular selection tool automatically changes in the rectangular deselection tool (icon with a minus sign). When there is a rectangular selection on the screen, I cannot put an new rectangle on my image, as the rectangular selection tool can only deselect parts of the image I put first. To put a new rectangle, I have to click on the image with the free selection tool to remove the first rectangle, and only then I can put an new rectangle (but after that, the rectangular selection tool automatically changes in the rectangular deselection tool).

What should I do to restore the original function of the rectangular selection tool, with the possibiltiy to put a new rectangle immediately?

 

Thanks in advance.

 

Johan

 

    15 replies

    Inspiring
    Nov 10, 2026 7:58 PM UTC

    Tout est expliqué dans la description du bug.

    Translate
    Participant
    Oct 28, 2026 4:37 PM UTC

    Same thing for me in CPU and GPU previews.  I can move sliders around in a menu like Hue & Saturation and the preview updates as I drag.  If I toggle the Preview checkbox the display will stay stuck on the old view and not preview anymore.  Moving a slider again will bring back the preview until I uncheck/recheck Preview.

    Edit: Preview in Photoshop menus now functions correctly as soon as I post this message.  Go figure.

    Possibly related:  Changing a Spot color’s hue in Illustrator doesn’t update on greyscale images where that new color is applied.  It changes on vector shapes.  Only way to see the new hue is the save, close, and reopen the file.  I’ll post on the Illustrator forum.

    Translate
    Known Participant
    Oct 22, 2026 12:59 PM UTC

    over and over again,   BUGS  - version 27.11

    Translate
    Known Participant
    Oct 22, 2026 12:58 PM UTC

    Many bugs again and again. Others previews with bug

    Translate
    Participant
    Oct 21, 2026 5:42 PM UTC

    ​@Johan240456801yuv ​@Sameer K ​@J E L 

     Are you all seeing this on Windows 11? Can you post your Help/System Info?
    Thanks
    -Tom

    Translate
    Johan240456801yuv
    Participating Frequently
    Oct 22, 2026 1:02 PM UTC

    I have Photoshop 27.11.0 20260929.r.26 8c16e56  x64 (final, Release)
    I’m on Windows 11 64 bits, build 26300.9711

    Is this the information you required?

    Best regards,

    Johan

     

    Translate
    Sameer K
    Community Manager
    Community Manager
    Oct 21, 2026 1:46 PM UTC

    Hey, @Johan240456801yuv. Welcome to the Photoshop Community. Thanks for bringing this up, and @J E L for helping speed this up.


    I can see this too, and there are several other gaps that relate to the Modern User Interfaces overhaul effort. So, if this report overlaps with existing tickets and threads, I'll add those details or merge this thread.


    For now, even in Photoshop 27.11 and later, you can go to Edit > Technology Previews > Uncheck 'Enable Modern User Interface' & restart Photoshop.


    Thanks!
    Sameer K
    (Type '@' and type my name to mention me when you reply)

    Translate
    Participant
    Oct 20, 2026 5:41 PM UTC

    I can confirm this issue in Photoshop 27.11.0 on Windows. The Shadows/Highlights preview no longer responds as expected.

    Translate
    Claire H.
    Community Manager
    Community Manager
    Oct 20, 2026 9:02 PM UTC

    Hi ​@pwkpwkpwk  and ​@matsh53318595, thanks for reaching out to the Photoshop Community Forums. We can use some more information to try to reproduce this issue. Can you send your system info, a screen recording of the issue, and a numbered list of the exact steps needed to replicate it? You can find your system info by going to Help > System Info, copying and pasting it into a text file, and attaching it here.

    In the meantime, you can try resetting your Photoshop preferences: https://adobe.ly/4zOZtW9.

    Remember to back up your settings before doing the preference reset: https://adobe.ly/4sgB8py

    If none of these steps work for you, please send over the requested information so we can continue troubleshooting. I hope this helps! ^CH

    Translate
    Participant
    Oct 21, 2026 8:32 PM UTC

    I have the same problem Claire.

    All you have to do is open any image in PS (from Camera Raw in my case) & apply Shadows/Highlights at any stage of the editing process & you get the behaviour as described by the previous two posters.

    The system info you asked for is attached.

    I have not tried to reset my preferences as I can’t recall all the preferences I have altered & do not want to try & remember them if anything goes wrong & the info you have supplied for backing them up leads to a browser screen simply displaying a 404 error code.

     

    Translate
    Participant
    Oct 20, 2026 4:02 PM UTC

    Photoshop 27.11.0 on Windows, the Shadows/Highlights tool (Image → Adjustments → Shadows/Highlights) doesn’t preview changes anymore as II move sliders or type in the value boxes. The tool itself works, it applies the change when I click the OK button, but without the preview is it not totally useless but close to.

     

    Translate
    J E L
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    Oct 17, 2026 5:18 PM UTC

    Yes, I can confirm that the Preview toggle only works once with Adjustments > Brightness/Contrast; Exposure; Vibrance; Color Balance; Black & White. You can toggle Preview back and forth correctly with Adjustments > Levels; Curves. (Windows 11 Pro; Photoshop 27.11 Release). This is a bug but I haven’t found it posted from anyone else yet. I’ll keep looking.

    Translate
    Johan240456801yuv
    Participating Frequently
    Oct 18, 2026 9:19 AM UTC

    Thanks for your answer; I’m happy that I’m not the only one with the problem.

    Hopefully a resolution will be offered soon…

    Johan

    Translate
    Johan240456801yuv
    Participating Frequently
    Oct 17, 2026 4:22 PM UTC

    The problem is still not solved.

    I returned to Photoshop 2025, and there the problem is NOT present.

    So it seems to be a Photoshop 2026 problem, but how can I solve it?

    Johan

    Translate