Skip to main content
Participant
Sep 18, 2024 8:55 AM UTC
Open for Voting

Chapter markers not appearing in Marker Panel

I have added several chapter markers to my timeline.

I would like to export them (that's what PP Help said to do) and use a 3rd party tool to add them as bookmarks to my MP4, so users can skip to relevant topics while watching the video. 

However... my Marker Panel is completely blank! I tried switching the type of marker, and the colors in the panel... it's still empty. What should I do?

7 replies

Participant
Sep 19, 2024 2:46 PM UTC
Hi Stan,

For the record: in my original project, I was able to successfully create markers that showed up in the Marker Panel by selecting a clip first. For whatever reason, timeline markers did NOT show up, but clip-level markers DID. So I'm in business!


Regards,



Sharon Ra’anan | Technical Content Creator

sraanan@opentext.com | https://www.cloudally.com<>

[Shape Description automatically generated with medium confidence]
Translate
Stan Jones
Community Expert
Community Expert
Sep 19, 2024 1:07 PM UTC

Sharon,

 

Interesting.

 

I would do this by starting PR without opening any projects, creating a new project, then in the Project Panel, right-click, import, and go to your previous project and select it.

 

A variety of methods may work. Or not.

 

For example, when I upgrade to a new version, I always reset preferences and clear the cache. (Hold Shift down when opening PR and pick the options.) And I create a new project without opening any old ones.

 

Or another possibility (that is already addressed by creating a new project) in your old project, turn OFF Windows -> Workspaces -> "Import workspace from Project" - to make sure a corrupt workspace is not brought in.

 

Stan

 

 

 

Translate
Participant
Sep 19, 2024 12:55 PM UTC
Hi Stan,

VERY helpful. Yes, in my test project, I see Markers - but in the clip, not on the timeline. As soon as I added my 2 test markers, boom, they appeared in the Markers panel! I successfully exported them to a csv file.

So... Either copy-paste my real project to a fresh one? Or reset preferences? I'll copy over to a test area, so I don't mess anything up. But thanks so much!


Regards,



Sharon Ra’anan | Technical Content Creator

sraanan@opentext.com | https://www.cloudally.com<>

[Shape Description automatically generated with medium confidence]
Translate
Stan Jones
Community Expert
Community Expert
Sep 19, 2024 11:27 AM UTC

How are you getting that "Search by marker keyword" window? I was just referring to the search item in the Marker panel.

 

In any event, the fact that Export -> Markers is greyed out points to something else. Even if nothing shows in the Marker because of a random search entry or selecting the wrong markers, it still has the option to export if there are markers in the Sequence.

 

I would first reset the Workspace or just try a different one.

 

If that does not work, create a test project/sequence.

1 Close all projects and close and reopen PR.

2 Create the new project on a local drive.

3 Don't add any files via the create project/import window.

4 Add one clip and create a new sequence from that using the new icon.

5 Add a marker and see if it is working correctly.

 

If that test works, create a new project and import the old project (all or select sequences).

 

If that does not work, I would then reset preferences. If you reset preferences without being prepared, you can lose customization. See this page to avoid those problems:
https://helpx.adobe.com/premiere-pro/using/reset-preferences.html

 

Stan

 

Translate
Participant
Sep 18, 2024 3:29 PM UTC

Translate
Stan Jones
Community Expert
Community Expert
Sep 18, 2024 1:20 PM UTC

That is odd. In my test Chapter markers do show.

 

First confirm that you have All Markers (or Sequence markers) selected in the 3 line menu.

 

Second, make sure you don't have a space or similar in the search box.

 

Third, click in the timeline, and File -> Export -> Markers and see if they export. They don't have to show to export.

 

Stan

 

Translate
Participant
Sep 18, 2024 1:59 PM UTC
Hi Stan,

Thanks for answering!

*
All Markers is definitely selected.
*
Nothing is in the search box at all. (I closed it and reopened it just in case: Window > Marker, right? )
*
When I selected the sequence and tried File > Export, Markers were greyed out. It thinks I don't HAVE any markers. But why not?? I have a bunch of them showing up on the timeline. I created them like this:

[cid:f4bf77a8-82be-4c5b-b5df-e4337fcc25b8]

Why doesn't it think I have markers?

[cid:275f6e92-6f10-4b40-9557-f08ead4b2510]

Thanks,
Sharon Ra'anan
Translate