Skip to main content
Rameez_Khan
Legend
Feb 3, 2020 1:47 PM UTC
Question

FAQ: Dynamic link between After Effects and Adobe Media Encoder doesn't work. Next steps?

UPDATE: 

If you render your After Effects projects via Media Encoder to create MP4 files, there is good news. 

After Effects Beta version 23.0x11 allows you to render H.264 (.MP4) directly from the After Effects Render Queue. The integration utilizes Media Encoder's backend encoding system without leaving After Effects. For more details, see: Exporting H.264 from the After Effects Render Queue

 

How to download After Effects Beta: 

 

However, if you are rendering your After Effects project via Media Encoder for other file formats, sometimes you might run into an issue where Media Encoder opens but the composition isn't added to the queue. Follow the troubleshooting steps given in this article to solve the problem: https://adobe.ly/2VenHZr

 

If the steps given in the article don't help you, we need to collect dynamic link logs from your computer and share them with the After Effects team. Please follow these steps on your computer and share the log files with any Adobe staffer in the community.

 

  1. In After Effects, choose Help > Enable Logging
  2. Restart After Effects and open your project that exhibits the problem
  3. Send your composition to Adobe Media Encoder
  4. After you have successfully replicated the problem, choose Help > Reveal Logging File in After Effects. A bunch of folders will open revealing different kinds of After Effects logs
  5. Look for the file named "LiveLink Log.txt"
  6. Upload the "LiveLink Log.txt" file to Adobe Creative Cloud and share the URL with us. Instructions here: https://helpx.adobe.com/in/creative-cloud/help/share.html. Feel free to use any other file-sharing service if you want.

 

NOTE: Sharing the logs with the After Effects team doesn't assure an immediate fix. In some cases, you may get an immediate resolution while in others, it will help the After Effects team to get to the root of the problem and drive product enhancements.

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.

77 replies

Participant
Nov 5, 2021 12:00 PM UTC
Participating Frequently
Nov 5, 2021 11:29 AM UTC

ok, so I guess I'm not he 1st?!

her's my log file to this matter:

https://shared-assets.adobe.com/link/c9332c37-b2c2-4b28-5278-492108506504

(and just to make sure I also attached it 😉

I hope this is what you ment by "share the log file with us"?!

I seriously hope this issue get's solved soon!!!

GRZ \m/

Translate
Participant
Nov 5, 2021 8:57 AM UTC

Finally got a solutions to this, and thought I should share it.

I got in hold of Adobe Support and a legend called Prashant went into After Effects > Preferences > Memory & Performance > Disabled "Multi-Frame Rendering".

Then opened Activity Monitor and closed "aerendercore" and restarted the MacBook.

 

After that, everything was back to normal and worked perfectly.

Translate
Participant
Nov 5, 2021 9:16 AM UTC

Fantastic! This worked!

 

In my case, I didn't have "aerendercore" active, so it worked by just disabling "Multi-frame Rendering". No restart required. I've tried exporting a couple of times and it seem to go through. I'll have to see how it develops.

 

Thank you @Ultra5EEA !

Translate
Known Participant
Nov 5, 2021 8:53 AM UTC

hope this helps... 😞

Translate
Participant
Nov 4, 2021 12:31 PM UTC

Hello,

 

Same problem here. Here's the link: https://shared-assets.adobe.com/link/5402f1c4-507b-4aa3-7472-83f32d44a70d

 

Erik

Translate
andreasa10145310
Participant
Nov 4, 2021 2:06 PM UTC

Same problem here.

Link to AEM from AE stoped working after updating both to 22.

But exporting and link to AEM from Premier P works as before. So strange.

I hope for a swift solution for this problem. 

Translate
Participant
Nov 4, 2021 5:27 AM UTC

I've recently been having the same issue.   It was working for me around a week or so ago.   Now I can't add to media encoder, and I can't directly open the project from the encoder. 

 

I've included my log as well as an image of AME endlessly working to connect to my project.

Translate
kirkeric
Inspiring
Nov 4, 2021 12:06 PM UTC

I think you'll find the answers above. Deleting the preferences as described above.

 

That would probably do the trick.  Now, I will say that sometimes when it doesn't connect that shutting down encoder, AE, ensuring they are not still running in task manager does often also do the trick.  If more than that is required then I'd delete the preferences. 

 

Or do all of the above can't hurt and a complete reboot is a good idea as well.

 

Eric

Translate
threadandbutter
Participant
Nov 4, 2021 5:06 AM UTC

Hi, My media encoder stopped being able to connect to projects. It used to work. I tried all the steps, can you help?

Thank you

Translate
troth_nee_adobe
Inspiring
Nov 4, 2021 12:53 AM UTC

With a bit of isolation, I can fairly reliably repro this problem, for AME renders attempted after cancelling a previous render.

So I suggest variations of the following:

1) Add any job to the AME queue from AE

2) Switch to AME and start to render the job, but make sure to cancel rendering before it finishes.

3) Then try to add another AE job. On my machine this often fails.

 

If the bug manifests, my theory is that AME is basically wedged after step 2, and nothing will work again until you restart your machine (I'm on Mac, dunno about PCs.) And at this point, check Activity Monitor for AME/AE-related processes - sometimes I've seen multiple dynamiclinkmgr instances running, or unresponsive aerendercore instances.

 

But getting this to repro also appears to be a timing issue - it depends on when you cancel the job. Unfortunately I've not been able to pin down a pattern to this...

 

And in this workflow, I've verified no "LiveLink Log.txt" file is generated, so I can't post that.

 

I'm happy to provide more details if it's helpful.

 

Translate
troth_nee_adobe
Inspiring
Nov 11, 2021 11:53 PM UTC

With version 22.0.1 (Build 2), I can still repro the problem, but no longer have to involve the cancel steps in AME that I previously described. And now I can generate the LiveLink Log file, so I've attached it. Verified the "Enable Multi-Frame Rendering" perf. pref. doesn't change the the behavior. And testing was done immediately after rebooting machine (iMac Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2019, running Big Sur).

Translate
Tolembs
Participant
Nov 2, 2021 2:29 PM UTC

Hi! I've encountered this issue with AE 22.0 and AME 22.0. My issue is comps doesn't show up when queued directly in AE to AME. If it was queued in AE renderer then queued to AME, the comp shows up in AME, but if I try to render it's stuck in a "connecting to project" loop. 

Translate
Participating Frequently
Nov 3, 2021 8:31 PM UTC

Same here. This just started with the 22 releases. The AME menu Add After Effects Composition… is unable to add any After Effects Composition. The menu command does nothing.

Translate
Participating Frequently
Nov 3, 2021 8:43 PM UTC

None of the workarounds at https://adobe.ly/2VenHZr has any effect on this problem.

Translate
Participant
Nov 2, 2021 2:47 AM UTC