Skip to main content
Known Participant
Sep 8, 2021 2:25 AM UTC
Answered

Is it safe to delete Auto-Save files in "Adobe After Effects Auto-Save" folder?

Hello! Good day to all!

 

So I have been working on on multiple projects now and once I'm done with my projects, I delete their After Effects Project Files afterwards.

 

However, I just noticed this day that the Auto-Save folder actually saves my projects' auto-saves, and my old and deleted projects are still in there. And since this actually takes up space, may I ask if it's ever safe to delete the files in the Auto-Save folder? Especially the old projects in it, and since it takes up storage. Or will it ruin my files, anything or such?

 

Thank you!

Andrew Yoole
Andrew YooleCorrect answer
Inspiring
Sep 8, 2021 3:49 AM UTC

No, the auto-save files are simply copies of your main project at given moments of time.  You can delete them without any effect on your main project file.

 

But as a point of workflow policy, I'd never delete them until the project is finished, rendered and signed off by the client.  Tidy up at the end of the job, not half way through.  

 

If you're so stretched for drive space that this is important, I'd suggest it time to upgrade your hard drive.

6 replies

Participant
Feb 20, 2023 7:39 PM UTC

Hi, can you please let me know where you can find the auto-save files? My acrobat has crashed and I just lost several days' work! Your help is appreciated. 

Translate
Participant
Dec 27, 2024 3:32 PM UTC

I understand how frustrating it can be to lose work due to a crash. Auto-save files for Adobe Acrobat are usually stored in a temporary folder. You can check the following location on your system:

  • For Windows: C:\Users\[YourUsername]\AppData\Local\Adobe\Acrobat\DC\AutoSave
  • For Mac: ~/Library/Application Support/Adobe/Acrobat/DC/AutoSave. 
  • As a side note, if you're interested in اسعار الذهب اليوم في المانيا, you can check our website for real-time updates on gold prices in Germany.

 

Translate
Andrew Yoole
Inspiring
Sep 8, 2021 3:20 AM UTC

So long as you have the current project file stored safely (and preferably backed up somewhere) then it is safe to delete all the auto-save files.  They are not linked in any way to any other project files.

Translate
Lyza5E46Author
Known Participant
Sep 8, 2021 3:24 AM UTC

Thank you for the quick answer! I appreciate it! But what about if I delete the Auto-Save files of my current project that I haven't rendered yet, but saved? Will something happen?

Translate
Andrew Yoole
Andrew YooleCorrect answer
Inspiring
Sep 8, 2021 3:49 AM UTC

No, the auto-save files are simply copies of your main project at given moments of time.  You can delete them without any effect on your main project file.

 

But as a point of workflow policy, I'd never delete them until the project is finished, rendered and signed off by the client.  Tidy up at the end of the job, not half way through.  

 

If you're so stretched for drive space that this is important, I'd suggest it time to upgrade your hard drive.

Translate