Skip to main content
iMichael
Inspiring
Mar 16, 2018 5:57 PM UTC
Answered

How do I export a Workspace?

I have multiple workstations running Adobe Audition that need the same customized window layouts. I would like to export a configured workspace to be implemented on the rest of the machines. The objective is to ensure anyone using any machine has the same workspace environment.

If anyone has a better way of doing this I am open to suggestions.

This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.
ryclark
ryclarkCorrect answer
Participating Frequently
Mar 16, 2018 11:56 PM UTC

You need to go to the settings folder for your version of Audition and copy over the Workspace folder that you will find in the settings folder. In order to discover the Audition settings folder click on the Help menu and select Reveal Log Files from the drop down menu. This will take you to the Logs folder within Audition's settings folder. So navigate up a level and you should see the Workspace folder that you need to copy to your other computers.

9 replies

Participant
Sep 26, 2018 2:58 AM UTC

Why can’t you use export customized application settings?

File>Export>Application Settings

According to the Adobe Audition manual: Application settings files store all current preferences, effect settings, and workspaces. Export and import these files to store groups of customized settings for specific workflows, or transfer favorite settings to another machine.

Translate
SteveG_AudioMasters_
Community Expert
Community Expert
Sep 26, 2018 9:48 AM UTC

chrisb40390639  wrote

Why can’t you use export customized application settings?

It depends upon the extent of what you want to export. It certainly exports basic settings, but if, for instance, you wish to export a custom preset in an effect, then it won't be there. If you do an export, you can open the .xml file and read what it exports pretty easily. Another thing you won't find in it is keyboard shortcuts you've assigned...

Translate
ryclark
ryclarkCorrect answer
Participating Frequently
Mar 16, 2018 11:56 PM UTC

You need to go to the settings folder for your version of Audition and copy over the Workspace folder that you will find in the settings folder. In order to discover the Audition settings folder click on the Help menu and select Reveal Log Files from the drop down menu. This will take you to the Logs folder within Audition's settings folder. So navigate up a level and you should see the Workspace folder that you need to copy to your other computers.

Translate
iMichael
iMichaelAuthor
Inspiring
Mar 17, 2018 4:38 AM UTC

Is there a native solution within the Adobe Audition software that will accomplish my objective?

Translate
SteveG_AudioMasters_
Community Expert
Community Expert
Mar 17, 2018 10:52 AM UTC

iMichael  wrote

Is there a native solution within the Adobe Audition software that will accomplish my objective?

No, I'm afraid not. If there was, ryclark would have told you. One of the reasons is that the method he mentions is relatively easy to implement across multiple installations, and if you think about it, it's what you would have to do with any other export; you've still got to move a file to the fresh installation and install it, whatever you do.

Translate