Skip to main content
jims50524975
Participant
February 2, 2017
Answered

Purging the Cache in Bridge

Lately, as I've been using Bridge, I've received a message that states:

"Bridge encountered a problem and is unable to read the cache. Please try purging the central cache in Cache Preferences to correct the situation."

From what I've researched, purging the cache seems like a safe option, but I'm relatively new to Bridge, and I'm just not clear on what purging the cache does. I just want to make sure that I'll still have all of my images to work with and that nothing will be erased.

Any help is appreciated!

    This topic is closed to new replies. Start a new post to keep the conversation going.
    Stephen Marsh
    Stephen MarshCorrect answer
    Community Expert
    November 21, 2018

    5 replies

    Stephen Marsh
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    February 3, 2017

    Additionally to Ronald’s reply, it is not just the thumbnail, it is other data such as metadata. For example, if you update the Keyword metadata outside of Bridge in another app, the keyword may not update until Bridge has been exited/opened again or the cache for the image or folder has been purged.

    Translate
    curtk77830679
    Participant
    November 20, 2018

    Stephen,

    Does purging the cache (specifically when using the "Automatically purge stale items older than 30 days" feature) delete the keywords or collections associated with the images? Or does it exclusively clean up thumbnail/preview performance? Thanks!

    Translate
    jbm007
    Community Expert
    Community Expert
    November 21, 2018

    No

    It holds small preview data to help thumbnail preview performance.

    Whether or not it improves actual performance is up to debate.

    I have a very fast machine and it does not show a marked improvement in speed.

    Translate
    Legend
    February 2, 2017

    When you visit a folder Bridge generates thumbnails and saves those thumnails in the cache.

    Purging the cache in fact means those thumbnails are deleted. This does nothing to the actual images.

    Bridge regenerates them again when visiting the folder. So nothing to worry about albeit it can take a while on large folders.

    Translate