Skip to main content
norinam
Inspiring
Aug 29, 2018 8:02 PM UTC
Answered

Illustrator CC export for screens 1 pixel off in size

This is a continuation of the issue that occurs in Illustrator CS6

Illustrator CS6 artboard exports 1 pixel off in size

Settings

  1. The images I'm exporting are using whole numbers for width, height, x-axis position and y-axis position from x:0, y:0
  2. The artboards are the exact size of the image: Object > Artboards > Fit to Selected Art
  3. The Object > Make Pixel Perfect trick did not work for me. I got an Illustrator message stating they were already perfect.

Tested

  1. File > Export > Export for Screens... (adds 1 pixel to height and width)
  2. File > Export > Export As... (does not add any pixels)
  3. File > Export > Save for Web (Legacy) (does not add any pixels)

Thoughts

This seems to only be an issue with the "export for screens" option. I'm guessing this is a bug that just hasn't been solved yet.

If anyone has any insights regarding solutions, feature requests, or bug fixes please add them in the comments.

Ton Frederiks
Ton FrederiksCorrect answer
Community Expert
Jun 6, 2023 7:25 AM UTC

@Ton Frederiks don't agree that this is an excuse for the exporter to add pixels. The exact size has been inputted. If the artboard is on a fraction of a pixel, I still see no reason for it to add a pixel. It would make more sense for Illustrator to round to the nearest whole pixel artboard location. If Illustrator has to add a pixel, there should be a warning. All of those apps mentioned above are capable of exporter issue warnings. Illustrator should be no different.


I am not giving an excuse, I was giving an explanation. If you want it changed (I do too), you can add a vote at Uservoice:

https://illustrator.uservoice.com/forums/601447-illustrator-desktop-bugs/suggestions/37694659-extra-pixel-added-to-image-size-when-exported

51 replies

Participating Frequently
Aug 17, 2020 11:07 PM UTC

This is really an annoying bug that should be fixed. Exported images should not vary its size depending on artboard position! 

Translate
Miroslav B
Participant
Nov 12, 2020 6:30 PM UTC

On average I waste 30 minutes of my time per workweek trying to figure out a workaround in a thousand + dollar software (per year) fo these errors that honestly are not justifiable. 


Translate
Inspiring
Feb 9, 2022 12:26 PM UTC

I have been testing out the Affinity products for a while and am hoping to make a full transition soon. Have you tried using Affinity Designer?

Translate
Legend
Aug 31, 2018 1:20 PM UTC

If I create a New Illustrator document with Web intent and define an artboard size in pixels, exporting for screens gives me an exact artboard size: in other words, I can't replicate the problem in Illustrator CC (2018) and do NOT see an extra pixel in width or height.

I'm wondering if step 2 in your settings is the culprit – and possibly due to stroke weights and stroke positioning, there is a minuscule bit of 'rounding' occurring that when exported for screens results in a rounding up.

Are you able to provide some step-by-step screenshot examples of what you are doing?

  • are the document units of measurements set to pixels?
  • does the artboard size display an exact number of pixels?
  • etc.
Translate
norinam
norinamAuthor
Inspiring
Aug 31, 2018 5:50 PM UTC

Cari Jansen​

  1. There are no strokes on my objects, but if there were I would Object > Path > Outline Stroke before exporting.
  2. I've seen the rounding issue you're talking about before, even posted about it: illustrator CC snap to anchor points off by 0.005 px , but the images below show this is not the case.

The object

The Artboard

Preferences

Steps to Reproduce

File > Export > Export for Screens...

Export for Screens

(some images and text censored)

Windows 10 Explorer > [right click newly created PNG] > Properties

(some images and text censored)

Translate
Participant
May 14, 2019 4:16 PM UTC

I realize this issue was brought up last year, but I had the same problem and thought it helpful to share a potential solution. Making sure the artboard is aligned to the pixel grid as described at https://www.reddit.com/r/AdobeIllustrator/comments/3dqadd/1_pixel_off_when_exporting_artboards_to_png/ct9qm26?utm_source… fixed the additional pixel problem in my situation. Essentially, while using the Artboard Tool make sure the X and Y position values are whole numbers without decimals. Doing "Rearrange All Artboards" from the Artboards panel flyout menu was an automatic way to align the artboards to the pixel grid that also worked.

Translate