Skip to main content
Participating Frequently
Mar 28, 2009 11:02 PM UTC
Answered

Borders around everything!

How do I get rid of the border around the text box and every image I place
in InDesign? Can you preview your work?
Thanks!
James Gifford—NitroPress
Legend
Mar 29, 2009 12:11 AM UTC
It's not clear what you mean by border. ID shows a bounding box (usually in blue or magenta) around every item on screen. These boxes do not print.

You can turn off most of the bounding boxes with Ctrl+H or the Hide command on the menu. You can turn off all the guidelines, etc. by going to Preview mode, under the View menu.

Most users find the guidelines useful in sizing, scaling, and placing elements, but it can be convenient to turn them off to get a clearer view in complex documents.

20 replies

SAAD'STUDIO
Participant
Dec 30, 2020 9:37 PM UTC

By "Border" I am assuming you mean an Outline that shows around every object (Which is basically a guide for you to see the parameters of any object).

 

You can go to View > Overprint Preview and check it to be ON. (ctrl + alt + shift + Y)

Translate
jmlevy
Community Expert
Community Expert
Dec 30, 2020 10:06 PM UTC

You are answering a post which is 11 years old…

Translate
SAAD'STUDIO
Participant
Dec 30, 2020 10:45 PM UTC

Hey Jmlevy,

Are you responding to my reply from 11 years ago? Did I just break through the time and space continuum?

  • Obama will be a two-term President.
  • Chicago Cubs will win the world series in 2016.
  • Donald Trump will become the next President by defeating Hillary Clinton.
  • His Presidency will be sad and hilarious at the same time; a lot of Twitter.
  • 2020 will bring a Pandemic bigger than the Spanish Flu; almost 400,000 will die in the USA, everyone will be trapped in homes, smart people will wear masks and dumb people will fight against wearing a mask.

Spread the word . . . or make money off of it.

You are welcome.

Translate
Participant
Oct 25, 2019 5:44 PM UTC

push the W key.

Translate
Participating Frequently
Aug 6, 2026 3:11 PM UTC

Pushing the W key, gives me a W on my page.

Translate
rob day
Community Expert
Community Expert
Aug 6, 2026 3:15 PM UTC

Make sure your cursor is not in a text field before pressing W

Translate
OldBob1957
Inspiring
Apr 1, 2009 1:42 PM UTC
Also look at Lynda.com It's worth at least a short subscription to check out their video tutorials in just about any product you can name.
Translate
Participant
Aug 1, 2016 4:44 PM UTC

Right click and go to Stroke Weight. Set it to zero.

Translate
Peter Spier
Community Expert
Community Expert
Mar 30, 2009 7:25 PM UTC
Adobe Stock Photos has been discontinued, and the icon to launch Bridge has been moved into the menu bar at the top, just to the right of the help menu.

Peter
Translate
_lkota_Author
Participating Frequently
Mar 30, 2009 10:15 PM UTC
You sure know your way around. Thanks Peter!<br /><br /><br /><Peter_Spier@adobeforums.com> wrote in message <br />news:59b870e4.8@webcrossing.la2eafNXanI...<br />> Adobe Stock Photos has been discontinued, and the icon to launch Bridge <br />> has been moved into the menu bar at the top, just to the right of the help <br />> menu.<br />><br />> Peter
Translate
Bob_Bringhurst_-_Adobe
Participating Frequently
Mar 30, 2009 2:21 PM UTC
Ikota, you can view a list of tutorials here:

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/InDesign/6.0/WS136D91ED-FAC8-4f4e-82A7-CF406D0131BB.html
Translate
_lkota_Author
Participating Frequently
Mar 30, 2009 3:37 PM UTC
Thanks so much!<br /><br /><br />"Bob Bringhurst" <bbringhu@adobe.com> wrote in message <br />news:59b870e4.5@webcrossing.la2eafNXanI...<br />> Ikota, you can view a list of tutorials here:<br />><br />> <a href=http://help.adobe.com/en_US/InDesign/6.0/WS136D91ED-FAC8-4f4e-82A7-CF406D0131BB.html>
Translate
Peter Spier
Community Expert
Community Expert
Mar 29, 2009 12:34 PM UTC
Ikota,

Trust me, only beginners need to ask why there's a stroke on everything, but it happens to all of us from time to time. ;)

It can be pretty annoying if you don't notice the problem until you see the press proofs.

Peter
Translate
_lkota_Author
Participating Frequently
Mar 29, 2009 6:54 PM UTC
Thanks Peter! One baby-step has lead to another and I'm so excited about <br />InDesign! I've discovered You Tube tutorials and I see how powerful and <br />wonderful InDesign is!<br /><br />Links to any favorite tutorials would be welcome.<br /><br />Thanks again!<br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><br /><Peter_Spier@adobeforums.com> wrote in message <br />news:59b870e4.3@webcrossing.la2eafNXanI...<br />> Ikota,<br />><br />> Trust me, only beginners need to ask why there's a stroke on everything, <br />> but it happens to all of us from time to time. ;)<br />><br />> It can be pretty annoying if you don't notice the problem until you see <br />> the press proofs.<br />><br />> Peter
Translate
Jongware
Community Expert
Community Expert
Mar 29, 2009 12:13 AM UTC
>How do I get rid of the border around the text box and every image I place in InDesign?

You've set the default line width to something other than 0. Be sure nothing is selected (click outside *everything*, or choose "Select None" from the Edit menu) and check for a value in the Stroke panel.

>Can you preview your work?

Sure. The bottom icons of the toolbar do exactly that: switching between edit mode (you see the pasteboard, guides, frames) and preview mode (you only see your page and possibly selected frames, nothing else). The toggle key is 'W', but be sure you don't accidentally have a text cursor. (The quick check is: press 'W', if nothing happens you'll have a 'w' somewhere in your document.)

[Edit: But of course, Nitro's right. Blue borders? It's just the frame for your current object.]
Translate
James Gifford—NitroPress
Legend
Mar 29, 2009 12:11 AM UTC
It's not clear what you mean by border. ID shows a bounding box (usually in blue or magenta) around every item on screen. These boxes do not print.

You can turn off most of the bounding boxes with Ctrl+H or the Hide command on the menu. You can turn off all the guidelines, etc. by going to Preview mode, under the View menu.

Most users find the guidelines useful in sizing, scaling, and placing elements, but it can be convenient to turn them off to get a clearer view in complex documents.
Translate
_lkota_Author
Participating Frequently
Mar 29, 2009 12:32 AM UTC
Thanks so much for answering such a question ... only a beginner could ask. <br />Your help is appreciated.<br /><br /><br /><NitroPress@adobeforums.com> wrote in message <br />news:59b870e4.0@webcrossing.la2eafNXanI...<br />> It's not clear what you mean by border. ID shows a bounding box (usually <br />> in blue or magenta) around every item on screen. These boxes do not print.<br />><br />> You can turn off most of the bounding boxes with Ctrl+H or the Hide <br />> command on the menu. You can turn off all the guidelines, etc. by going to <br />> Preview mode, under the View menu.<br />><br />> Most users find the guidelines useful in sizing, scaling, and placing <br />> elements, but it can be convenient to turn them off to get a clearer view <br />> in complex documents.
Translate