Skip to main content
Participant
Mar 24, 2017 7:03 PM UTC
Answered

Turn off Auto Fit default setting in InDesign CC

Recently, I've noticed that InDesign is setting text boxes to automatically auto-fit content when I resize them.  It doesn't mesh with my flow.  How do I turn this setting off?  I'm tiring of constantly selecting objects and disabling them.  TIring of accidentally scaling images disproportionally.  Please note:  I know how to turn auto-fitting off.  What I want to do is make sure it is not on when I add a new frame.

Barb Binder
Barb BinderCorrect answer
Community Expert
Mar 25, 2017 1:53 AM UTC

There have been a lot of questions about how to set defaults today!

I want to jump in to the conversation to clarify that there are two types of defaults in InDesign: system defaults and document defaults. Resetting system defaults (which impact all new documents) were addressed by John and Willi.

But if this is happening in only one file, then you need to reset the document defaults. Choose Edit > Deselect all, and with no objects selected, turn off Auto-Fit. Defaults get changed inadvertently when you forget to select something, but go into a menu/dialog box/panel and make a change. That's exactly how you reset it later.

~Barb at Rocky Mountain Training

13 replies

Participant
Sep 24, 2026 3:36 PM UTC

Can this feature be removed? It’s really annoying!

Translate
Participant
Nov 27, 2024 5:25 PM UTC

This is an old thread but still applies. I have this feature unchecked and it still does it. I've done all these things and it still randomly checks Auto fit.

 

Another of many annoying Adobe bugs. When will there be a better alternative to Adobe products?

Translate
Abhishek Rao
Community Manager
Community Manager
Nov 27, 2024 5:46 PM UTC

Hi @Kirsten32448661vd2a,

 

Thanks for reaching out! I understand how frustrating it can be when settings seem to reset unexpectedly.

To help resolve the issue, could you please provide the version of InDesign you’re using and the details of your operating system? This will help us narrow down the cause of the issue.

In the meantime, I recommend resetting your InDesign preferences, which might resolve this problem. You can follow the steps in this guide: Resetting Preferences.

Once you've reset the preferences, please follow the suggestion from the expert:

  • With no document open, go to Object > Text Frame Options, and uncheck the Auto-Fit option.
  • Additionally, try disabling Content-Aware Fit as the default, as this may be conflicting with your settings.

Let me know if this resolves the issue or if you're still experiencing it after these steps. We can explore further solutions if needed.

Looking forward to your update!

 

Best,
Abhishek

Translate
Participant
Jun 19, 2024 8:28 PM UTC

With no document open, select Object>Frame Fitting Options>Auto-fit (deselect)

Translate
Participant
Sep 24, 2026 3:37 PM UTC

Still does it.

Translate
Community Expert
May 5, 2021 6:51 AM UTC

FWIW:

Preferences > General > [  ] Make Content-Aware Fit the default Frame Fitting Options

is not checked if you install InDesign. So it's not default from the start.

 

Also see into this PDF guide where document preferences are highlighted:

 

A Visual Guide to InDesign Preferences
Mike Rankin
https://creativepro.com/visual-guide-indesign-preferences/

Regards,
Uwe Laubender

( ACP )

Translate
Barb Binder
Community Expert
Community Expert
Feb 8, 2021 11:29 PM UTC

@MsNicole:

 

In current versions, you can make Content Aware Fit enabled as a default in preferences. This was not available when the first question was asked in 2017,

 

 

~Barb 

Translate
~Barb at Rocky Mountain Training
MsNicole
Participating Frequently
Feb 8, 2021 10:57 PM UTC

Hello! This fix is not working for InDesign 2021. Do you have an update?

Translate
Participant
Mar 25, 2017 2:18 AM UTC

Very helpful!  Did the trick perfectly.  Thank you!

Translate
Barb Binder
Community Expert
Community Expert
Mar 25, 2017 2:59 AM UTC

Glad we could help!

Translate
~Barb at Rocky Mountain Training
Barb Binder
Community Expert
Barb BinderCommunity ExpertCorrect answer
Community Expert
Mar 25, 2017 1:53 AM UTC

There have been a lot of questions about how to set defaults today!

I want to jump in to the conversation to clarify that there are two types of defaults in InDesign: system defaults and document defaults. Resetting system defaults (which impact all new documents) were addressed by John and Willi.

But if this is happening in only one file, then you need to reset the document defaults. Choose Edit > Deselect all, and with no objects selected, turn off Auto-Fit. Defaults get changed inadvertently when you forget to select something, but go into a menu/dialog box/panel and make a change. That's exactly how you reset it later.

Translate
~Barb at Rocky Mountain Training
Willi Adelberger
Community Expert
Community Expert
Mar 24, 2017 7:17 PM UTC

Change it without no document open, make the change also in the default object style.

Translate
John Mensinger
Community Expert
Community Expert
Mar 24, 2017 7:08 PM UTC

With no document open, choose Object > Text Frame Options and set the default behaviors you want.

Translate