Skip to main content
Inspiring
Oct 21, 2025 9:46 PM UTC
Question

why did my image turn grey??

Why did my image turn grey all of the sudden??

 

9 replies

Barb Binder
Community Expert
Community Expert
Oct 22, 2025 4:30 PM UTC

Thank you for the screen shots, @hendy_5450 —this is a display performance setting. Somehow, your settings were changed to Fast Display. 

 

The controls are in three places:

  1. Object > Display Performance > High Quality/Typical controls the view single selected image
  2. View > Display Performance > High Quality/Typical controls the view of all images in the document
  3. Preferences > Display Performance > High Quality/Typical controls the default for all documents

 

This is a confusing feature because a.) the controls are three places (pick either View as per @Randy Hagan  or Preferences as per @Mike Witherell to restore the view) and b.) this only impacts the display of the images on screen. The images will still print as expected, no matter which setting you select.

 

~Barb

 

Translate
~Barb at Rocky Mountain Training
Mike Witherell
Community Expert
Community Expert
Oct 22, 2025 12:14 PM UTC

Click on Preferences > Display Performance > and set both Options and Adjust View Settings to High Quality Display.

Translate
Mike Witherell
Inspiring
Oct 22, 2025 9:31 PM UTC
still not showing images
Translate
Barb Binder
Community Expert
Community Expert
Oct 21, 2025 11:24 PM UTC

Hi Hendy:

 

Screenshots and details really do help us help you faster. Without one or both, we are left to guess.

 

~Barb

Translate
~Barb at Rocky Mountain Training
Inspiring
Oct 22, 2025 3:34 AM UTC

 

see screenshot

Translate
Scott Falkner
Community Expert
Community Expert
Oct 21, 2025 9:53 PM UTC

Just one image or all images? Did a colour image turn to greyscale or did it turn into a grey blob?

Translate
Inspiring
Oct 21, 2025 10:39 PM UTC
all images, into a grey blob
Translate
Randy Hagan
Community Expert
Community Expert
Oct 21, 2025 10:50 PM UTC

Try this:

 

  • Get your Arrow/Selection tool and click on one of the images.
  • Go to the View>Display Performance menu command and select the High Quality Display sub-menu command. Let us know if you see the image you selected then. 

 

Sometimes it's just that easy. If that works, or if it doesn't, let us know the results and we'll try to help if you need more assistance.

 

Hope this helps,

 

Randy

Translate