Skip to main content
Known Participant
Jan 30, 2024 2:56 PM UTC
Question

Export re-using previously used folder

Maybe not really a bug, but more a 'lost feature'. 

I always use export with 'choose folder later'. Lightroom Classic lost a nice featere here. Some versions ago it would show the same folder that was used at the previous export. Very welcome like for re-exporting after some changes and also as start to navigate quickly to a new folder. Now that feature has been lost, which means that we have to navigate the whole folder-tree each time. 

Can we get this feature back please?

 

Lightroom Classic 13.1

Windows 10

 

Cees

8 replies

GoldingD
Legend
Jan 30, 2024 9:36 PM UTC

Ah, David David David, read twice answer once. Yep Export not Import, my bad

 

So, in the following example, are you referring to the Export To box shown below (with a mouse click and showing the options for it)??

 

 

On my rig, this option defaults to previous (just like in various other options)

 

 

Translate
ceesjwAuthor
Known Participant
Feb 7, 2024 12:42 PM UTC

Yes, this the option used.

And in my case it has rembered some folder used months ago (probably from a previous version of Lightroom), and not the folder just most recently used for export, which was the case before and which I and many others clearly prefer. 

Cees

Translate
Participant
Apr 10, 2025 7:52 PM UTC

Yes! I'm having this same issue too. I did change computers in the process so maybe that's it? 

 

Basically my issue is despite the fact that I have one library for 2025, and have exported 5-10 galleries since January, when I have "Choose Folder Later" selected in the export setting, it ALWAYS defaults to the same January export folder I used a while ago instead of any of my more recent export folders (especially if I even JUST exported and then needed to re-export to the same folder. Like say... a shoot from March or April I'm working on)

 

It's very annoying...

Translate
GoldingD
Legend
Jan 30, 2024 7:06 PM UTC

I am confused. Current behavior in the Import screen, in the Destination Panel, is for the destination to be whatever was previously used. Is this not what you are seeing?

 

Translate
Community Expert
Jan 30, 2024 9:25 PM UTC

The OP referred to exporting, not importing. It's not clear to me which previous export location the "ask me each time" option is remembering as its offered default, but clearly it is remembering something.

 

Just: not, as would seem most logical, the most recent answer given to that question.

Translate